< News

Spotlight on success: 2024 Hedgehog Friendly Campus awardees

Jo Wilkinson
July 11, 2024

Hedgehog Friendly Campus is a national award scheme designed to protect hedgehogs, enhance their habitat and create awareness, part-funded by the British Hedgehog Preservation Society. Teams consist of students and staff members who work towards making impactful changes for hedgehogs and other wildlife around their university, college, or school.

We want to say a BIG CONGRATULATIONS to those of you that have achieved Bronze, Silver, Gold or Platinum accreditations for 2023-2024. Well done to everyone who has taken part this year, you have all done your bit to help hedgehogs and other wildlife in the places you learn.

To maintain their great standards, teams must renew their awards every one, two or three years depending on the award level. This year, our audits were conducted by over 30 trained student auditors who carefully and diligently examined evidence from all teams. A huge thanks to everyone who took part!

An incredible 90 institutions submitted an application to be a Hedgehog Friendly Campus. We engaged over 18,000 students and staff with hedgehog friendly training, workshops and assemblies. Over 1,600 hedgehog-friendly actions were taken over the course of the year including practical conservation tasks, citizen science surveys, fundraising and community engagement.

To celebrate your award, use the hashtags #HFCBronze, #HFCSilver, #HFCGold, #HFCPlatinum and tag @hogfriendly, @hedgehogsociety and @sosukcharity.

Pupils from St Michael’s and All Angels Catholic Primary School, putting up ‘Slow for Hedgehogs’ signs outside of their school gates

Students and staff at Plumpton College created wild spaces with log piles for hedgehog habitats

Students and staff at Cardiff University who came third place in the Big Hog Friendly Litter Pick Challenge

University awards

11 Universities have achieved a Hedgehog Friendly Campus award this year.

The following Universities renewed their Bronze and Silver Accreditation (2023-2024):

Birmingham City University, De Montfort University

The following Universities have achieved Gold Accreditation (2023-2024):

University of Nottingham, University of Liverpool, Birmingham City University, Cardiff University, Cranfield University, De Montfort University, University of Warwick

The following Universities have achieved Platinum Accreditation (2023-2024):

Durham University, Kingston University, Nottingham Trent University, University of Salford

FE College awards

33 FE Colleges have achieved a Hedgehog Friendly Campus award this year.


The following FE Colleges have achieved Bronze Accreditation including renewals (2023-2024):

Askham Bryan College & University Centre, Barnsley College, Blackburn College, Cambridge Regional College, City College Paston campus, City College Plymouth, Coleg Gwent College , Glasgow Kelvin College, Merrist Wood College, Moulton College, Myerscough College, Northumberland College Zoo, Nottingham College – Basford, Oaklands College, Shipley College, Solihull College & University Centre, South and City College Birmingham - Animal Care, Walsall College

The following FE Colleges have achieved Silver Accreditation including renewals (2023-2024):

College of West Anglia, West Suffolk College, MidKent College, Ayrshire College, Aurora Boveridge College, Brinsbury College, Derby College Group, Dundee and Angus College, Heart of Worcestershire College, Kendal College, Plumpton College, Writtle University College


The following FE Colleges have achieved Gold Accreditation (2023-2024):


SMB College Group - Brooksby Campus, National Star College, The Sheffield College


Secondary School awards

2 Secondary Schools have achieved a Hedgehog Friendly Schools award this year.


The following Secondary Schools have achieved Bronze Accreditation (2023-2024):


Beverley Grammar School, Martin High School Eco Club

Primary School awards

41 Primary Schools have achieved a Hedgehog Friendly Schools award this year.


The following Primary Schools have achieved Bronze Accreditation (2023-2024):

Bedford Drive Primary School, Glenelg Primary School, Heygarth Primary School, Overchurch Infant School, St John's Catholic Junior school, St. Aidan’s CE Primary School


The following Primary Schools have achieved Silver Accreditation (2023-2024):

Archbishop Cranmer CE Primary Academy, Bledlow Ridge School Hedgehog Club, Co-op Academy Portland, Heswall Primary School, Kingsland Primary School, Leasowe Primary School, Liscard Primary School, Outwoods Primary School, Pensby Primary School, Prenton primary School, Rothwell Schools, St Anne's Catholic primary school, The Mead at Wingfield Primary School

The following Primary Schools have achieved Gold Accreditation (2023-2024):

Hoggy Hub St Alban’s CE Primary, Watch Us Grow at Chilmark and Fonthill Bishop Primary School, Harrysmuir Primary School, Blackawton Primary School (Forest School), Castleway Primary school, Cathcart Street Primary School, Christ the King Catholic Primary School 'CTK hogfriends', Church Drive Primary School, Gayton Primary School, Hayfield SEN primary School, Mersey Park Primary School, Mount Primary School, Nelson Academy, Rock Ferry Primary School, Seafield Primary School, SS Peter and Paul RC Primary, St Bridget's CofE primary School, St George's primary School, St Michael and All Angels Catholic Primary School, Town Lane Infant School, Valley Invicta Primary School at Holborough Lakes, West Denton Primary School


Congratulations to you all.

Hedgehog Friendly Campus is part-funded by The British Hedgehog Preservation Society and delivered by SOS-UK.


Don’t see your institution listed and want to get involved? Email info@hedgehogfriendlycampus.co.uk for more information.